Our mission

Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies was founded in 1991 at Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń. The center's mission is supporting mathematical research in the field of nonlinear analysis and its applications as well as intiating scientific relations between different research communities.

The current main activities are the following:

  • publishing a high class scientific journal TOPOLOGICAL METHODS IN NONLINEAR ANALYSIS,
  • awarding a J. P. Schauder medal for scientific achievements and contributios to nonlinear anaysis (including the appointment of a medal jury),
  • organizing lectures, conferences and scientific workshops devoted to nonlinear analysis in a wide sense,
  • publishing the LECTURE NOTES IN NONLINEAR ANALYSIS series,
  • supporting mathematically talented young people.

The center activities are supported by the Scientific Council appointed by Rector of Nicolaus Copernicus University for the time of three years.

News and Events


Session dedicated to Prof. Tadeusz Nadzieja

Two years have passed since the death of Prof. Tadeusz Nadzieja, a long-time collaborator of the J. P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Research.

On behalf of the Organizers and the Center, we would like to inform that the Director of the Mathematical Institute of the University of Wrocław and the President of the Wroclaw Branch of the Polish Mathematical Society

have the honor to invite to the
PTM session dedicated to the memory of Tadeusz Nadzieja

which will be held on May 19, 2023 in Wroclaw, Poland,
in the HS hall of the Institute of Mathematics UWr, pl. Grunwaldzki 2,
at 17:00;

The organizers ask to meet at 4:15 pm in front of the HS hall.

During the PTM meeting, there will be an opportunity for participants to share their scientific (and not only scientific) memories as well as other materials (photographs,...) about Prof. Tadeusz Nadzieja.

VIII Symposium on Nonlinear Analysis

We cordially invite you to the VIII Symposium on Nonlinear Analysis, which will be held on June 17-21, 2024 in the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science of the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń. It will be combined with the Juliusz Schauder Medal and the Juliusz Schauder Prize Awarding Ceremonies. For more information see the symposium website.

Schauder Winter School 2023

The Center organizes the Schauder Winter School on Geometric and Topological Methods in Dynamics of PDEs, February 13-15, 2023. It will be held at Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, ul. Chopina 12/18, Toruń, Poland.

More information may be found here.

TMNA calls for papers

The special issue of Topological Methods in Nonlinear Analysis will be dedicated to the memory of  Professor Kazimierz Goebel, an outstanding scientist, teacher of generations of mathematicians in Poland and around the world, a former Chairman of the Scientific Council of the Schauder Center and a member of the Editorial Committee of the Topological Methods in Nonlinear Analysis journal, a person of great merit to our community.

Professor Goebel has profoundly contributed to the metric fixed point theory and geometry of Banach spaces. His co-author book with W. A. Kirk, Topics in metric fixed point theory, Cambridge Studies in Advanced Mathematics, 28. Cambridge University Press (1990), is a staple and much cited monography in the subject.

The issue will be co-edited by the special guest-editors Stanisław Prus and Łukasz Piasecki, who invite submissions of original research papers. Submissions will be considered via a peer review process.

J. P. Schauder Prize -2nd edition has started

The second edition of the Juliusz Schauder Prize competition for young mathematicians has been announced. For more details see here.

The competition purpose is to promote achievements of the Polish science in the field of nonlinear analysis and to support young researchers in this field.

Juliusz Paweł Schauder

Topological Methods in Nonlinear Analysis

Lecture Notes in Nonlinear Analysis

J. P. Schauder Medal

Juliusz Schauder Prize for young mathematicians