By the decision of the jury, appointed by the Scientific Council of the Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies at the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland, and consisting of Professors:

  • Wacław Marzantowicz (chairman of the jury, Poznań),
  • Marek Izydorek (Gdańsk),
  • Grzegorz Karch (Wrocław),
  • Jean Mawhin (Louvain-la-Neueve),
  • Roman Srzednicki (Kraków),
  • Andrzej Szulkin (Stockholm),

the winner of the 2014 Schauder Medal is the distinguished American mathematician professor Paul H. Rabinowitz from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA.

The Schauder Medal is awarded to individuals for their significant achievements related to topological methods in nonlinear analysis. The awarding ceremony will take place on Monday, September 14, 2015, during the VII Symposium of Nonlinear Analysis, which will be held on September 14 - 18, 2015 on Toruń at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Sciences.

Perhaps more than anyone else, Paul Rabinowitz deeply influenced the field of nonlinear analysis becoming a true inheritor of the mathematical legacy of Juliusz Schauder. The famous global bifurcation theorem, the mountain pass, the linking and saddle theorems, results concerning the existence od periodic solutions to hamiltonian systems, variational methods in the theory of critical points of strongly indefinite functional under the absence of compactness conditions of the Palais-Smale type are only some of achievements of Paul Rabinowitz having the enduring place in the history of mathematics.

Professor Rabinowitz was born in 1939, received his PhD at the New York University under Jürgen Moser in 1966. He joined the faculty of Stanford University and in 1969 he became the professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where now he is the E.B.Van Vleck Professor of Mathematics as a professor emeritus. He visited many mathematical institutions all over the world (e.g. universities at Aarhus, Pisa, Paris and ETH in Zurich). He is the winner of many prestigious prizes (see the attached laudation of the Birkhoff Prize awarded by the AMS and SIAM), and received an honorary degree from the University of Paris in 1992. Paul Rabinowitz is also a member of the US National Academy of Sciences.