By the decision of the jury, appointed by the Scientific Council of the Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies, consisting of Professors:

  • Wacław Marzantowicz (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland) - chairman of the jury,
  • Piotr Biler (University of Wrocław, Poland),
  • Grzegorz Łukaszewicz (University of Warsaw, Poland),
  • Edward Norman Dancer (Sydney University, Australia).
  • Jean Mawhin (Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium),
  • Paul Rabinowitz (University of Madison-Wisconsin, USA),
  • Susanna Terracini (Univeristy of Torino, Italy).

the 2023 Schauder Medal goes to the distinguished German mathematician

Professor Thomas Bartsch from the University of Giessen, Germany

for his exceptional achievements in the field of nonlinear analysis as well as topological and variational methods in this area. In particular, the jury highlighted applications of algebraic and equivariant topology, the Conley index and critical points theory in variational problems and Dirichlet boundary problems of partial differential equations.

Thomas Bartsch is the author (or co-author) of over 100 scientific papers published in top-tier mathematical journals, several monographic review articles published as book chapters, and numerous contributions to conference proceedings. He is also the author of one book publication.

Professor Bartsch graduated from the University of Munich in 1983, where he received his doctorate under the supervision of prof. H. Steinlein in 1987. In the years 1987 - 1995 he worked at the University of Heidelberg, first as a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Albrecht Dold, and then as an assistant professor. In 1993 he habilitated, and in 1995 he received the prestigious scholarship of W. Heisenberg at the ETH University of Technology in Zurich, where he stayed in the years 1995 - 1996. In 1996 he received a professorship at the University of Giessen, where he works to this day. He was a fellow of the German National Scholarship Foundation and received a research prize from the University of Munich. He is a member of  the Editorial Boards of many mathematical journals, and was awarded several research grants from DAAD, DFG, and NATO.